Uncategorized

Thanksgiving, Catholic Edition

We are a week away from Thanksgiving, ladies and gentlemen! I, for one, am really looking forward to stuffing my face in the company of family. And watching football. And sleeping through Black Friday. What are you looking forward to?

Gratitude lists abound right now, and I’m about to add to the pile. That being said, my list is about the small things that I’m grateful for as a Catholic. Most of these things I never thought about before my conversion, mostly because I didn’t realize they existed. So, here we go!

1. Seeing my baby do the same wild happy dance for the Sign of the Cross that he does when Mickey Mouse Clubhouse comes on. And listening to our kids say their “Thank you, Jesus” each night. Equal parts heart-warming and hilarious.

2. The “Christmas” season that now extends from Advent to the Epiphany. That’s almost six extra weeks to celebrate! Bonus: my olive-wood Nativity set. I wish I could leave it up all year.

3. Gregorian Chant.

4. Have a problem? There’s a saint for that!

5. church architecture and stained glass. The parish I’m currently attending is a traditional structure, and I gawk like I’m at the Museum of Art every single time I walk though the door.

6. School uniforms. We have four children, one of whom is a girl. Uniforms won’t save me from the 15 year roll-out of puberty that I have coming, but it will definitely help.

7. Feast days. The Catholic calendar practically demands that you party for three-quarters of the year!

8. Reading material. I’m just now discovering C.S. Lewis and G.K. Chesterton, and there is enough material on Church history alone to keep me occupied until I die.

9. Latin Jokes.

10. No matter where I go in the world, I have a home.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving, Catholic Edition

  1. Only now with the Lewis and Chesteron? I have failed you as a friend lo these many years.

    Christmas as a season technically extends to the Sunday following Epiphany, but if you really want to be hardcore you can leave certain greenery up until Candlemas. After that there are “taking down the greens” hymns that include curses for leaving them up after February 2nd. 😉

    Like

    1. I’m enjoying the backlog of reading I now have, since almost all of mainstream fiction is no longer interesting to me. 🙂
      Yes, you are correct! I tend to forget the exact “end times” for the Christmas season, especially Candlemas. That being said, I’m pretty happy with any extra time we can get!

      Like

Leave a Reply

